i dreamt i saw you walking
up a hillside in the snow
casting shadows on the winter sky
as you stood there counting crows
one for sorrow, two for joy,
three for girls, and four for boys,
five for silver, six for gold, and
seven for a secret never to be told

there's a bird that nests inside you
sleeping underneath your skin
when you open up your wings to speak
i wish you'd let me in

from "a murder of one" ~ counting crows
don't microwave your bras!

i went home early yesterday at 3pm instead of 7pm because i hurt all over and felt like crap. i was asleep by 4pm and woke, briefly, and 2:30am, went back to sleep, and finally got up at 6am this morning. i have a little game i play where i hit snooze until a good song comes on and THEN i get up. well, i was routed this morning when i woke to "Outside" and since i love that song, i just took it like a lady and got my ass out of bed. i was ready anyways, having slept for 14 hours. Since i really didn't have to be at work until 8, i broke the shoelace on my favorite black shoes, every one screams when i wear sandals in the dead of winter, and they make fun of me when i wear my boots, i opted for the three inch heels. They only go right with the black mini skirt. So, i put a huge sweater over the whole thing to "Deflect and confuuuse" but it didn't work. Three guys had to make some comments on my way into 7-11 and they grabbed two of their friends to help them whistle when i came out. It didn't help me that i was trying to juggle a 24 oz coffee, an liter of water, a straw, my change purse and my keys so it took forever to get into my truck and leave. i guess it's nice to be appreciated when you feel a pretty day coming on, but sheesh, can't they think of some nicer way?

OH, BTW ~ to a friend ~ YOU'RE AN IDIOT! i promised i'd remind you. but i don't have to agree. you're just too nice. Nevermind, on second thought that qualifies us BOTH under our definition of 'idiot'. i think i'll shut up now . . .

Now playing : Bedtime For Democracy by the Dead Kennedys nummy-licious! Kat loaned it to me, he is so sweet!

i am going on strike! i will refuse to eat `till my stomach stops it's revolt against me. i just can't seem to please anybody right now, dammit! No matter what i eat, i feel ill, so i will go back to my all liquid diet starting . . . NOW! i am tired of being sick. But i did lose some weight in doing so . . . or some inches actually, so why and i bitching?

THE LINKS I PROMISED!
the main site
link to the test

Ra & i were discussing the possibilities of finding a *new* eating disorder to replace the ones we have now (but in a wry-humor sort of way.) i suggested some drug habits help with that, but that was nixed due to the money involved and the possibility of job loss. She suggested anorexia i nixed it because you have to almost hate yourself and it takes a LOT of obsessing to maintain (and yes, since i have had someone close to me be both anorexic and bulimic i am aware of how sick this conversation is) when she suggested bulimia i pointed out the whole esophagus and teeth being eaten away and offered the laxative option but we both just kinda lost it there and decided to go for a healthier life instead. It sucks trying to fit into a certain mold and know that you will be treated so differently by most everyone when you don't fit the picture they have in their mind of what you should look like. This is not just women, either, but we do see a good deal more of it, and believe me, i have LOOKED for a double standard. It seems men can be quite a bit larger before they really see the discrimination. And 'ugly' gets discriminated all around, no matter what sex you are. But then, "Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder." ~ poster. i never felt much like fitting into very many molds but this size and weight thing is something that permeates EVERYTHING. It has been duly noted by every article ever written on the subject and i don't think i need to point out all of that argument. But can i just take a moment to point out Barbie? (Yes, if you don't know by now, i am H.Bob Long. i am almost always "Bob" when i am a man.) Life was easier as a tomboy. Sure, i would be pleased with the body of, say, hmm . . . Angelina Jolie!!!!! (i can't breathe! i can't breathe!) But then, i would not be ME, with my scars and bad ankles, my great legs and impressive cleavage. i may not be satisfied with how i look right now, but i got me here and i will work to get to where i WILL be satisfied. Until then, it is my way coping to have a sense of humor, but that does NOT mean i find YOUR comments funny, asshole, so shut the fuck up, OK? Thanks for listen to me rant. Touchy subject.

Hi Daisy! Who are you? Do i know you in RL? This has been driving me crazy for a while, but i keep forgetting to ask.

"'Is something wrong,' she says. 'Of course there is.' 'You're still alive,' she says 'But do i deserve to be? Is that the question? and if so, if so, WHO ANSWERS?! WHO ANSWERS?!" ~ Alive by Pearl Jam

On a lighter note we have and installment of

TALES FROM THE WAYWARD KITCHEN
Do NOT Ever Microwave Your Bra

Show of hands for those of you who HAVE seen the exceptional John Candy (deceased now) in the movie Uncle Buck. Hmm . . . about a 50% split . . . well, he plays the title role of a confirmed bachelor keeping his sibling's kids for a while and he is just lost. It's a pretty good movie `cause he also has to win over the kids and all and there is that golf club scene . . . hehehehe! But i actually want to point out the scenes where he can't, for the life of him, figure out the washer & dryer. They run out of clothes and he eventually gets some clothes washed and they are hanging all over the house dripping on everything! One of the kids is yelling that they NEED those clothes FOR SCHOOL ~ NOW! So, as a response, he microwaves the stuff dry.

Now we have caught up on the BG of this story i will tell. i hand washed all my unmentionables one night but forgot to take them out of the sink where they were soaking and the next morning, i needed a bra to wear. So i rinsed them all off and wrung them out as best as possible and set one in front of a fan. When that didn't help, i doused it in isopropyl alcohol to get it to dry faster. No dice. By now i have taken a shower, combed my hair, put on my makeup, picked out my clothes, and i really needed to go. It still was no drier than my others hanging in the bathroom. i thought hard on this and remembered the movie and decided that i could do this, too! i covered up the metal so it wouldn't spark (no underwire) and put it on for a minute. Microwaves don't let out steam. I waved it around for a few minutes to let the steam off the garment while the rest escaped from the open microwave. With all that steam (even taking into account the molecular expansion of water to steam) i was ver disappointed to realize that it had not dried much at all. i threw it in for another TWO minutes . . . when i pulled it out it steamed and we repeated our little waving dance. Then i looked at it and still it wasn't very dry, but it had melted. It didn't melt too much, just a small row of little holes in the mesh, but let me tell you, it is very uncomfortable to go for a whole day with sharp little plastic knives stabbing into you. And the bra was not salvageable. i was ready to burn it by noon and NOT as a protest of female oppression! So, learn from my experience ~ do not EVER microwave your bras! Thank you.

~{@ ~{@ ~{@ ~{@ ~{@ ~{@ ~{@ ~{@ ~{@ ~{@ ~{@ ~{@ ~{@

I was too busy playing princess
While you were off there somewhere else
I was too worried about someone else
And her name could almost rhyme with mine

I never meant for you to feel this way
I never meant for you to feel this way
Can't tell truth from fiction
Can't tell truth from fiction

I think pretty one listen to me
Truth is all that's asked for
And love is steering you to the inevitable
Would you can't stop trying
Or you may start crying

I can't tell truth from fiction
I can't tell truth from fiction

I was too busy playing princess
While you were off there somewhere else
I was too worried
I was too worried about someone else
I didn't know the truth was mine

I never meant for you to feel this way
I never meant for you to feel this way
Feel this way
Can't tell truth from fiction
Can't tell truth from fiction
I never meant for you to feel
I never meant for you to feel this way
Can't tell truth from fiction
Fiction


Can't Tell Truth From Fiction ~ by Supreme Beings of Leisure
this song is here because i can't find one that is not in my e-mail, so i am now taking an occasional request on the song of the day. This is one Randy has been waiting on for a long long time. If you love a song and have lyrics, e-mail them to me. i may just use them if they are appropriate. i just had no song in mind today and this one seemed cool.


0

confessed on 2001-01-08