i dreamt i saw you walking
up a hillside in the snow
casting shadows on the winter sky
as you stood there counting crows
one for sorrow, two for joy,
three for girls, and four for boys,
five for silver, six for gold, and
seven for a secret never to be told

there's a bird that nests inside you
sleeping underneath your skin
when you open up your wings to speak
i wish you'd let me in

from "a murder of one" ~ counting crows
"Find a corner where I can hide"

i had a lovley afternoon with O.Penguin yesterday! He finally gave up! We drove out to Cedar Hill and ate lunch at IHOP so i could have my never-ending coffee and then played in Barnes & Noble's for a good long while ~ i picked up the two books i promised Naomi ~ i found a book that sent me into fits of laughter, it was a 'Penguin Book' of erotic literature written by women! i bought that one, too! So far it is beautiful, but the title just kills me! i also grabbed the Dido CD and finally figured out why her song was sampled on "Postcards" ~ she is the (former?) songstress of Faithless! Duh. i live under a rock, i swear! The whole CD is very etheral and pretty, i liked it.

Next, we drove aimlessly all over the metroplex, deposited my check, listened to all the CDs of mine he hasn't heard yet, and drove some more. He really loves to drive. A lot. i finally got him to stop at the little French bakery/coffee shop we love and we got more coffee for me (Choc Rasperry Truffle Cappuccino ~ fancy!) and a cigar for him that he so kindly shared with me . . . it was very interesting the way the tastes blended so sensually. After that he dropped me off and went home to work on his movie. i had a great time. Spending an afternoon or two a month with him is enough, though. For a few hours, you are the center of the known universe and time stands still. It is heady and fun, there is almost always something to talk about and the silence is comfortable. After he is gone, it's like recovering from an excellent book or coming out of a video game trance ~ where did this boring world come from? Small doses only, please!

i couldn't get in touch with Cyn and i was pretty tired and my neck was still sore, so i went home to read and crash after i checked mail and stuff. It was unexpected but nice.

i think i fell off the "Yay!" List . . .


Lonely feeling, deep inside
Find a corner where I can hide
Silent footsteps crowding me
Sudden darkness, but I can see

{Refrain}

No sugar tonight in my coffee
No sugar tonight in my tea
No sugar to stand beside me
No sugar to run with me
Da do da da...

In the silence of her mind
Quiet movements where I can find
Grabbing for me with her eyes
Now I'm falling from her skies

{Refrain}

Jock says yes, and I believe him
When we talk about the things I say
She hasn't got the faith or the guts to leave him
When they're standing in each other's way

You're driven back not to places you've been to
You wonder what you're gonna find
You know you've been wrong but it won't be long
Before you leave 'em all far behind

{Second Refrain}

'Cause it's the new mother nature taking over
It's the new splendid lady come to call
It's the new mother nature taking over
She's getting us all, she's getting us all

Jock said no when I came back last time
It's looking like I lost a friend
No use calling 'cause the sky is falling
And I'm getting pretty near the end

A smoke filled room in a corner basement
The situation must be right
A bag of goodies and a bottle of wine
We're gonna get it on right tonight

{Second Refrain}

Lonely feeling
Jock says yes and I believe him
Deep inside
When we talk about the things I say
Find a corner
She hasn't got the faith or the guts to leave him
Where I can hide
When they're standing in each other's way

Silent footsteps
You're driven back now to places you've been to
Crowding me
You wonder what you're gonna find
Sudden darkness
You know you've been wrong and it won't be long
But I can see
Before you leave 'em all far behind

{Second Refrain}

Da do da da...

"No Sugar Tonight/New Mother Nature" ~ by Guess Who


0

confessed on 2001-01-20