i dreamt i saw you walking
up a hillside in the snow
casting shadows on the winter sky
as you stood there counting crows
one for sorrow, two for joy,
three for girls, and four for boys,
five for silver, six for gold, and
seven for a secret never to be told

there's a bird that nests inside you
sleeping underneath your skin
when you open up your wings to speak
i wish you'd let me in

from "a murder of one" ~ counting crows
oh, man, what the FUCK?!

"And i said 'What about Breakfast at Tiffany's?'"
Roni missed breakfast yesterday but she was late to school and lunch was at 11:30 so it wasn't that bad. So i thought. She had a terrible-no-good-all-bad-day-from-hell. i got a call at 2pm telling me she was in the office again. She had been loud and obnoxious all day and capped it off with a huge temper tantrum directed at her teacher. With yelling and stomping of feet. Oh, NO, my little girl, we will have NONE of that! she was allowed only dinner and coloring for a while or reading a book all evening. No TV, no fun. We went to bed at 10pm.

"She said 'i think i remember the film'"
She knows the rules. She strangely believes that they are there for other people, not her. the only people who seem to have any measure of control over her are me, Sarah, Papa Bear (my Dad), Russ, and her pre-K teacher, Christine. We are all similar in our tactics and none of us LET HER CONTROL US. she has no respect for her teacher because the woman is not very strict. We have tried to tell her not to show weakness, but i think she is too nice. Roni really likes her, but the respect is not there. Reward and consequence is something Roni understands the concept of, but the reality of it is too distant to really be a deterrent. Dad says i just haven't hit on the right punishment yet. Like what? The rack? An iron maiden? Thumbscrews? Dye her hair green and make her wear orange?

"'And, as i recall, i think we both kinda liked it.'"
We had a good morning. i got up half an hour early and hurried so that we could leave and hour early. (don't ask ~ i am notoriously slow in the mornings) We stopped at the store to pick up the Fruit Loops she needed for the 100th-day-of-school party and then we went to McD's for breakfast before school. i dropped her off and got to work 15 minutes early! there was no traffic out there this morning!

"And i said, 'well, that's one thing we've got.'"
i so love this little terrorist but i don't know what to do but muddle through and hope i can teach her to bend with out breaking her. i know that this is all on me. She has no discipline at her Dad's because it's a big party the whole time she's there. i know he wants her time with him to be fun and all, but . . . that leaves me as the mean one. i know she loves me and respects this, but i want to be the fun one sometimes! i want to be young and silly and do goofy stuff and . . . oh, yeah, be her friend. But i'm her mom. i am her only real parent and i'm tired. Gggrrrrrrrrrr!

i just wanted to say hi to the Lord of the Crack, and remind him that he is really a hero to some of us loyal little crackheads! You have done what all of us have wanted to do so many times since we started our first day of work at our first job. Damn, man! Bad idea or not, it had to have felt great for a second or two . . . i do hope the fallout is only light flack and it magically turns to fake snow on the way down, though. You are way too great to have to put up with that kind of shit and he deserved it.

And i also want to say i am cheering for The Great and Powerful Riz in the D*Land Survivor contest! Hang in there and UPDATE! This is the only way he will pay attention to us all, you know . . . if he gets booted he will stop updating again and life will be all sad and empty AGAIN! And i also want to suggest NyQuil at night and something i just found ~ Aleve cold & sinus ~ for the day time and do you have antibiotics? You need to take care of you! (i would swear by the Aleve ~ i am hypersensitive to decongestants and it doesn't space me out or make me jumpy) Feel better soon!


Hello banana, I am a tangerine.
Is it a dream? Oh, no! I don't think so, but
My head is spinning, I am a carousel.
Don't-cha hear the bells ringin' in my ear?
And I haven't any troubles,
'Cause the friendly, friendly bubbles wash them away.

I am so mellow, I am a jello man.
Yes I am and nothing touches me.
Oh, no, I think it's over
For the fire's gettin' lower, I'm fallin' down.
Hello banana, I am a tangerine . . .

"i Am A Tangerine" by Tommy James and the Shondells


0

confessed on 2001-01-24