i dreamt i saw you walking
up a hillside in the snow
casting shadows on the winter sky
as you stood there counting crows
one for sorrow, two for joy,
three for girls, and four for boys,
five for silver, six for gold, and
seven for a secret never to be told

there's a bird that nests inside you
sleeping underneath your skin
when you open up your wings to speak
i wish you'd let me in

from "a murder of one" ~ counting crows
You raise the blade, you make the change, you . . .

Wow. If any of you think that the late 70's / early 80's hard core heavy metal is dead, think again. It is alive and lives in Arlington, Texas, plays at the J.Gilligan's on Abrams, and it goes by the name of ASKA. Trust me, i was there last night to see them!

OK, i know it's not really my favorite style of music ever or anything, but the drummer, Jason, used to work with me so when they play in my neighborhood, i try to stop by, pay the $5, and catch the first set at the least. i usually say hey to Jason and catch up for a minute or two then take off during the break.

Cyn and her man, Robert called me yesterday and asked . . . well, she actually DEMANDED that i go out there with them, and it'd been a long while since i'd seen her or ASKA, so i agreed and we met up and had a good time. Robert is a HUGE fan of Kiss, Quiet Riot, Iron Maiden, etc so he was in HEAVEN when they started the first set with "See You In Hell, My Friend" and they just got better. For me, the highlight was when the crowd requested the theme song to The Jeffersons and they pulled a few fans up on stage to sing it with them! It was tooo funny!

Apparently, Darren was sick so they had a backup guitar player doing his part of lead guitar, George was in a great mood as his wifely person recently had his son and Jason was late as usual. i looked for the website www.askaband.com, but it was down this morning, sorry.

Other than that, i got to chat with Her High Mangledness when i got home and it was too much fun! She sent me to a couple really great sites including Sister Spit and showed me great pix of Michelle Tea who is a pixie-punk-goddess type and totally yummylicious! (Amy, THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! i had some V-E-R-Y pleasant dreams that i don't really remember but my short nap was sooo refreshing!)

And i had some great correspondence with the ever lovely Methybeth and O.Penguin got the diary for his rants and was VERY pleased. i fixed the broken links and stuff in my nasty geocities poetry pages (and had a helluva time trying to figure out where to put the link on this page ~ just TRY to find it!), and i got to talk to my Sarah and heard my little man being so cute and fussy! i just love that kid!

That was my whole day in a nutshell . . . i'm at work today and so there won't be much to tell unless you aspire to learn CentreVu CMS or RTA & TCS and i don't know anybody who gets off on it like me, so i won't even bother to go into it ~ thank me now. =)


"Comfortably Numb" ~ Pink Floyd
"The child is grown . . . the dream is gone"


0

confessed on 2001-04-15