i dreamt i saw you walking
up a hillside in the snow
casting shadows on the winter sky
as you stood there counting crows
one for sorrow, two for joy,
three for girls, and four for boys,
five for silver, six for gold, and
seven for a secret never to be told

there's a bird that nests inside you
sleeping underneath your skin
when you open up your wings to speak
i wish you'd let me in

from "a murder of one" ~ counting crows
Hey, pretty

i am in pain. Incredible pain. Could someone please kill me? i will give you my entire CD collection if you would just kill me now. i have somehow acquired a tremendous headache that is flirting with the idea of becoming a migraine and already my vision goes 'fuzzy with halo' to 'high pass' and back on a regular basis. i don't want to be here at work today. Unfortunately, i don't really have time for a headache right now. i have a meeting this morning and another this afternoon. i'll have to take something after the am meeting or i won't make it through the day.

i don't think it helps to know my most heavenly of saviors is not here today to distract me and make me laugh and think and stumble and fall. "Look, Ma, no hands . . ."

i went home yesterday at 9:30 pm. i was busy typing entries, chatting with my conscience, and stuff on my computer at my desk until the raging pain settled upon my brain to get comfortable and set to ripping my head apart. Then i drove home and walked into a dark apartment and curled into fetal and slept straight through to six am. i can't tell i slept at all. All i seemed to have done was relinquish consciousness to the predator on my brain.

i want to shoot out the lights. i think i'll hide in Ra's office for a while . . . be back in a few.

*

*

*

Ok, i cleaned Ra's office and re-arranged everything in the half-light of a small touch lamp. i will now drown my pain in Pepsi and pills . . . She owes me for the cleaning, jokes, and for bringing the curse down on me with her damned chocolate. i will take HER pills!


"Hey Pretty" ~ Poe
"Hey, pretty, don't you want to take a ride with me . . . through my world?"
and i thank you for accepting.


0

confessed on 2001-06-19