i dreamt i saw you walking
up a hillside in the snow
casting shadows on the winter sky
as you stood there counting crows
one for sorrow, two for joy,
three for girls, and four for boys,
five for silver, six for gold, and
seven for a secret never to be told

there's a bird that nests inside you
sleeping underneath your skin
when you open up your wings to speak
i wish you'd let me in

from "a murder of one" ~ counting crows
Ani and me? Yeah, we're like this . . .

i grew up in the house of a 'boob man'. It was never glaring, but there were occasional hints and the basic fact that my mom is well endowed seemed to point to it, too. It was never a defining factor in their marriage, but i know it was a major perk for dad.

i never really realized until now how it must have been, nay, BE, for mom.

Angel is a rabid 'boob man' with a side of 'ass', both of which i have more than plenty of. He seems to think he draws a special power from touching my boobs. He has made up chants . . . Frankly, some days it's a little daunting. How do those with super powers live up to the responsibility? Do you have to prevent people from knowing about them? Do they have to go forth and stop crime? Do i have to register my super powers with some group and attend meetings and vote on policies? What if i use them for personal gain? Does that make me evil?

Help! i'm lost!

In other news, i have a brand spankin' new computer! i gave away my old slow and hell computer to O.Penguin about two weeks ago and ordered a Dell last Friday. i have been driving Angel crazy asking if he thought it would be here [today] everyday. It got here today and i even got to touch it first! i carefully delivered my new baby from his box and slowly, lovingly, cleaned him up and wrapped his cords around him. i plugged all his plugs in and turned him on and spent a few minutes getting to know my new darling baby boy. He has already wooed me and i'm enraptured with his flexibility and brilliance! He's a real genius, my boy is! And ladies, you should see the size of is subwoofer!

i'm so happy right now . . . the only thing that could ruin this blissful moment is for Angel to sit on my computer all damn night and not let me use it! Oh, well, i guess i should have known. He wanted to reconfigure my computer and set it up the way he wanted it. Why, i don't know, but after a while of, "who is a computer God, and who is a lowly computer user?" with a pat on the head for being a good little girl, i gave up the fight. i slipped vodka into my V8 Splash to kill the pain of living with a technosnob. In all other ways, he is the perfect man for me, but in this, he is unbearable. He knows it all and there is nothing i can tell him. Well, screw it. i love him and i still want to spend forever with him.

two hours pass while i play on Engrish dot com and laugh myself stupid until i almost pee my pants . . .

i am now at my own computer writing on my new black keyboard listening to my new tiny sleek black speakers as they bring Ani DiFranco right into my home and thinking that i had a lot of things i meant to write but forgot.

i have dreams about work now. In one that i still actually remember, The Tick, this really great guy who happens to be a 'team assistant', is something like a Maitre 'D of this morphing train/hotel/place we all lived and shit. He would run around fixing everything for everyone and managed to acquire outside food for me as the place only served food i hated or was allergic to. He never managed to meet Angel - for some reason Angel would disappear moments before The Tick would appear every time. i just remember that the whole dream was very frustrating and that nothing worked right and that Angel and The Tick were the only bright spots as they both made me laugh. Weird. There were other dreams but i can't remember what they were about and don't care to try too hard. i think i rolled over and slept longer tying to solve whatever problems i was being presented with in my dreams and that's not good. At that rate i'd have slept forever like in the freaky sci-fi shows you catch on cable late at night.

Speaking of 'late at night', it really is and i need to bail here, it's just not getting any better than this.


"As Is" ~ Ani DiFranco
"and i've got
no illusions about you
and guess what?
i never did
and when i said
when i said i'll take it
i meant,
i meant as is
"

"Imperfectly" ~ Ani DiFranco
"when you're pretty as a picture
they pound down your door
but i've been offered love
in two dimensions before
and i know that it's not all
it's made out to be
let's show them how it's done
let's do it all imperfectly
"


0

confessed on Friday, Sept. 13, 2002