i dreamt i saw you walking
up a hillside in the snow
casting shadows on the winter sky
as you stood there counting crows
one for sorrow, two for joy,
three for girls, and four for boys,
five for silver, six for gold, and
seven for a secret never to be told

there's a bird that nests inside you
sleeping underneath your skin
when you open up your wings to speak
i wish you'd let me in

from "a murder of one" ~ counting crows
"You had to have a white-hot spot light, didja?"

i am a song downloading fool, yes i am!

This round was kicked off with my sudden and unexpected passionate need for Billy Joel songs and an obscure allusion to a Violent Femmes song from My Invisible Liege and it has run along to Three Doors Down (radio), Thursday (Miss Meredith), and as much Cure, DM, BLOODHOUNDGANG, Tori Amos, and Faithless as i can find, of course. i even have a song by Tim McGraw though i have a very good reason. It's a very good song, OK?

This is being a weird day. i had the worst headache in a long time today and thought i'd just die. i was hoping someone would figure out how to remove the huge painful sliver of wood from my head but no one ever did . . .

After work i met the Angelus at El Fenix and he brought Ronica and Almenda who was thrilled that they had "REAL 'chiladas!" and proceeded to regale us with tales of living in Mexico. It was a nice dinner overall.

damn, i'm tired now . . . i think i'll go to bed here in a sec, but first i wanted to tell you the strangest thing - my Boys are really cool and we usually leave them out of the cage at night and when we leave for a short while as there is no predator in the house and they've never really tried to leave their huge playground with two water bottles and phone books to borrow in, bedding and toys. They can run, hide, climb, burrow and generally destroy anything on that table and we clean the whole of it every week but sweep every other day. They seem to be content. There is even one corner that it closer to the window and they stash the cold food there for later. Some days i just keep giving them cracker after cracker just to watch the cuteness of them stashing food and scurrying all over. It's just adorable!

Well, all this aside, they don't seem eager to leave their little 'island paradise' so to speak. Until recently, that is.

i sleep like the dead. You can walk a brass band followed by an elephant heard through my BED and it won't disturb me, but the second you try to be sneaky, i'm instantly awake and alert. i don't get it, but hey, i'm weird. i'm used to it.

i was zonked out good last night and i feel a tickle by my foot. i wake up. The tickle scurries along my leg. i freeze. The tickle scampers across my back and burrows into my hair on the back of my neck and snuffles. i know right away who it is. Turd Ferguson has found his way off the table, down the couch, across the living room, around the corner, down the hall, into my room, up the dust ruffle and into my bed to cuddle with me. Aaawwwww, how sweet!

i scoop him up and curl him close over my heart and pet his little head while i stumble back to the living room to drop him off in HIS bed and then wander into the bathroom to pee, wash my hands, get a sip of water (i guess i need the iron, anyways, right?) and then go back to the table to say good night. No Turd. Not in house #1, not in casa dos. Not on the table or in his little cave. Nope, he was too busy crawling on my FOOT to be on his table! i scooped him back up and nosed him into his house, moved Trebek into the same cage and put the lid on so i can get some sleep. The first sight that greeted me this morning was two little rats staring at me like i sent them to Federal pound-me-in-the-ass prison, sniffing the 'outside' from on top of one of the little houses. i made kissy noises and told them i was sorry but that they were NOT getting out and moved on.

i'm such a TYRANT!


0

confessed on Monday, Nov. 04, 2002