i dreamt i saw you walking
up a hillside in the snow
casting shadows on the winter sky
as you stood there counting crows
one for sorrow, two for joy,
three for girls, and four for boys,
five for silver, six for gold, and
seven for a secret never to be told

there's a bird that nests inside you
sleeping underneath your skin
when you open up your wings to speak
i wish you'd let me in

from "a murder of one" ~ counting crows
FINGERS ~ by me

i look down at my hands
cuticles chewed
ridges apparent
clean and worn
index nails ragged
the right one torn and bruised
my knuckles bluish
and slightly enlarged
from years of popping
fingertips torn and chewed
four plain rings
impressed into my skin
callused around them
from years of wear
small scars mar the map
lines radiating
cross hatched
and merging
worn
loved
loving
and i still feel the
the solidity of your face
the texture of your shirt
the feel of your
hair sliding over . . .
lips pressed against . . .
eyes moving on lids under . . .
skin prickling from the touch of . . .
my fingers

mjh
� 2001 by me and all that mess


0

confessed on 2001-02-15