i dreamt i saw you walking
up a hillside in the snow
casting shadows on the winter sky
as you stood there counting crows
one for sorrow, two for joy,
three for girls, and four for boys,
five for silver, six for gold, and
seven for a secret never to be told

there's a bird that nests inside you
sleeping underneath your skin
when you open up your wings to speak
i wish you'd let me in

from "a murder of one" ~ counting crows
and to think . . . last night was *fantastic*

Joey called me this morning at 6:40am to tell me he was in Grand Prairie! MY JOEY! HERE!! IN THE METROPLEX!!!


i was so excited i took a long hot shower (to hack up my lungs and help with the congestion, actually) got dressed and ran off to work. i got there way too early and went to the store instead, got some meds, food, and big bags of Halloween M&Ms for .50ea! even after the store, i got to work at 8:30 so i ate some pineapple, grabbed a handful of M&Ms and took my meds. i cleared up some of the loose ends from yesterday and talked to a few people before i logged in.


that�s where everything started going WRONG.


my head started hurting and my stomach got queasy within half an hour. i knew the cold meds had Tylenol and i didn't want to take too much medicine to i only took one Excedrin Migraine because it's been over 15 years since Tylenol got rid of ANY headache of mine, let alone one that came on so fiercely.


by 10:30 it was twice as bad and i was breaking out in chills AND a sweat at the same time. my stomach was rolling.


by 11:30 i couldn't take it anymore and IMed my lead, Michelle asking her how it would be taken if i, like, had to leave. she said it'd be fine. i told her i was trying to hold out as long as i could because i knew coverage was thin on the lunch hour, but if it got any worse i'd jet while i could still drive.


by noon i was DONE. i was down to breathing shallow and slow hisses between clenched teeth on a jaw of steel because throwing up is, for me, a traumatic experience. i was sick a LOT as a kid and i have two words for you: Phenergan Suppositories. there is NOTHING i won't do to avoid throwing up. i e-mailed my boss and Michelle and left.


the drive that normally takes an hour (to or fro) took a whole 20 minutes and i was home, slipping into bed to curl in a ball and focus on not puking.


i emailed Leesah from my phone because she wanted to meet me for lunch, and i fell asleep.


i woke up once, at 2:30, coughing like the world was ending and had to sit up and hold my breath until it was under control. to pass the time i braided my hair in twin braids. i remember thinking that i didn't want to get puke in my hair. i fell asleep petting Boshi's paw. i don't think she left my side most the day.


i woke again at 5:55 and wanted Angel. i called him. he was almost home. he made me an English muffin and i ate that and caught up on e-mail & myspace while i chatted with The Ronica. i sent some pictures to her & The Tick, ate some Wendy's nuggets and here we are to right now. i am typing this. typing . . . typing . . . typing and telling the cat to get her drippy snatch away from my desk. coughing . . . typing . . . posting this bitch so i can take my meds and go to bed and snuggle with my baby.


3 shits given

confessed on Thursday, Nov. 10, 2005