i dreamt i saw you walking
up a hillside in the snow
casting shadows on the winter sky
as you stood there counting crows
one for sorrow, two for joy,
three for girls, and four for boys,
five for silver, six for gold, and
seven for a secret never to be told

there's a bird that nests inside you
sleeping underneath your skin
when you open up your wings to speak
i wish you'd let me in

from "a murder of one" ~ counting crows
"So you said that only proves that I'm insane!"

Well, "Friday night i crashed your party, Saturday i said i'm sorry, Sunday came and trashed me out again . . . I was only having fun, wasn't hurting anyone, and we all enjoyed the weekend for a change . . ." No, Wait, that's not right!

Friday night i went to bed and Saturday i spent a frustrated day at work penniless and hungry but went out to dinner at Dragon Wood and came home to mindlessly watch TV with my baby.

Sunday we had routine and scheduled system maintenance at work so out whole system was down and i got three calls at 9:30am, 10:45am and 11:38am. i logged out for lunch only to be told on my way out the door that i was getting early release. i went back to my desk, logged out as 'home', and split. i stopped at Albertson's on the way home and picked up a few things to make dinner and then cleaned the casa while working on The Best Ever Shepherd's Pie.

Somehow, due to my zeal for the baking of the pie, i ruined the bag the crust was in and was forced to send Angel back to the store for some butter and a quiche as the last one was avoided by him until it went bad in the fridge waiting for me to bake it. i just now got the damn thing defrosted enough to pour! Now i have to wait an HOUR for it to bake!

At least i'll have a great lunch tomorrow!

Today, we have both been kinda on edge and bickering for no real reason. i snap at him when he mixes metaphors and accidentally give offence and he snaps back and then it's ON. Or i'll be playing a game or thinking great thoughts and he'll be trying to talk to me and he'll be mad at me for 'ignoring' him. OK, fine, sometimes i DO detach and stop hearing what is going on around me, but i don't do it out of malice! i promise!

Most of the time it's over stupid things like semantics. i am very sensitive to HOW things are said and WHAT WORDS are used to say them, hence, my reading the semantics of a statement, or it's real implied or alluded meaning. i can't think of ant time when the phrase "iiii, unlike SOOOOME PEOPLE, don't [ some dumb thing ]!" would NOT be a deliberate dig. Apparently, he did not mean it to be and thought i understood that it was supposed to be generalized. Well, i didn't. And i pounced all over that with claws, front and back, and TEETH! Just like he was a tasty little morsel of catnip stuffed mousey goodness.

Oh, yeah, and i reamed him over butter. i asked for a pound of REAL butter and get Parkay sticks, and even wrote "1 tub - I.C.B.I.N.Butter" and got Country Crock. NO! NO! NO! NO! NO!

But, i digress, that is behind us now. i guess it's been me a lot. Maybe me even more than him. i even pick on his habit of picking on any and everyone for no reason other than 'they are there'.

WHY HAVE I BEEN SO EDGY? And why has my pain tolerance plummeted to the point of a simple touch leaving that bruised feeling for an hour? i dunno. This and other mysteries answered tomorrow, here on 'Questions Of The Enigmatic'


"Don't Ask Me Why" ~ Billy Joel
"You can say the human heart
Is only make-believe
And i am only fighting fire with fire
But you are still a victim
Of the accidents you leave
As sure as i'm a victim of desire
"


0

confessed on Sunday, Nov. 03, 2002